Hand notepad
© Munich Re Foundation

The RISK Award Jury

The jury who makes the final RISK Award decision consists of a board of internationally renowned experts in the field of disaster risk reduction representing a variety of backgrounds (developing countries and developed countries, gender-balanced, politicians, scientists and practitioners). They stand for a fair, objective and targeted decision process.

Renate Bleich
Paola Albrito has served in the United Nations System since 1999. Ms. Albrito joined the United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) in 2004 for the Second UN World Conference on Disaster Reduction. She also acted as Representative to the European Institutions and directed activities to support disaster resilience and partnership building actions within the region’s 55 countries. In her subsequent role as Chief of UNDRR’s Intergovernmental Processes, Interagency Cooperation and Partnership Branch (from 2019), Ms. Albrito coordinated interagency efforts in supporting the implementation of the Sendai Framework for Disaster Risk Reduction and partnership building initiatives related to risk informed investments and actions. She was appointed as UNDRR Director on 1 October 2022.
Renate Bleich
Renate Bleich is the newly appointed chair of the Munich Re Foundation. The foundation addresses major global challenges including environmental and climate change as well as disaster prevention. Previously, she was responsible for further developing Munich Re’s sustainability strategy and putting the Group’s activities in a wider context, e.g. the SDG’s. One particular focus of her work is on climate change. Renate holds a Master’s degree in economic geography from LMU Munich.
Susan Cutter
Dr. Susan Cutter is a Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography at the University of South Carolina where she directs the Hazards and Vulnerability Research Institute. She received her BA from California State University, Hayward and her MA and Ph.D. (1976) from the University of Chicago. Her primary research interests are in the area of disaster vulnerability/resilience science — what makes people and the places where they live vulnerable to extreme events and how vulnerability and resilience are measured.
michael faber
Michael Havbro Faber is Professor at the Department of the Built Environment at Aalborg University, Denmark. From 2000-2011, he was a tenured professor at ETH, Zurich, Switzerland. His research interests are directed on governance and management of risks, resilience and sustainability. Present engagements include the Joint Committee on Structural Safety, the WEF; Global Expert Network on Risk and Resilience, the Global Risk Forum in Davos, the GLOBE Consensus on sustainability in the built environment and the Danish Academy of Technical Sciences (ATV).
Benjamin Karmorh
Benjamin S. Karmorh is a scientist and administrator with an international and local reputation who has played key roles in enabling Liberia uphold its responsibilities and commitments to the United Nations Climate Change Regulatory Frameworks, including his management and leadership for the preparation of national climate change communications and reports to international bodies. He has to his credit more than 10 years of successful work experience with the EPA. 
Nathanial Matthews
Nathanial (Nate) Matthews is Director of Programs at the Global Resilience Partnership and a member of the Secretariat of the Ocean Risk and Resilience Action Alliance. He has over 16 years’ experience in resilience, disaster risk reduction, adaptation and mitigation spanning 30 countries.  He holds a PhD in Geography, has published two books and authored over 55 scientific publications and reports. He holds a number of external positions including as a Senior Visiting Fellow at King’s College London, an Obama Foundation Mentor and an IPBES Lead Author.
Haresh Shah
Professor Haresh Shah has been a pioneer in the fields of risk analysis, earthquake engineering, and probabilistic methods for over 35 years. He has served Stanford University in many capacities, including Chairman of the Department of Civil Engineering and Founding Director of the John A. Blume Earthquake Engineering Center. He is also a member of many Editorial Boards of Professional Journals and Professional Societies.
Sandra Wu
Sandra Wu, Wen-Hsiu is the current Chair of UNDRR's  business stakeholder groups, the Private Sector Partnership and Private Sector Advisory Group. She is the Chairperson and CEO of Kokusai Kogyo Co., Ltd., an engineering consulting company that had been providing Japanese local governments with disaster risk management and geospatial information-based solutions for over a half century. She is on the steering board of WEF Infrastructure & Urban Development Industry Partner Group and a member of the WEF Global Agenda Council on Infrastructure.