• Call for proposals gestartet

    Call for proposals gestartet

    Die 15. Internationale Konferenz "Inclusive Insurance for Emerging Markets" findet vom 5-7 November in Dhaka, Bangladesch unter dem Motto "Coping with Climate Risk" statt. Sie wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bangladesh Insurance Association (BIA) und dem Microinsurance Network organisiert. >mehr

  • Nebelwasser sammeln und Technologie entwickeln - Jetzt für Fördergelder bewerben!

    Nebelwasser sammeln und Technologie entwickeln - Jetzt für Fördergelder bewerben!

    Die WasserStiftung und die Münchener Rück Stiftung wollen die Entwicklung von Projekten im Bereich Trinkwasser aus Nebel weiter voranbringen. Dazu vergeben sie eine oder mehrere Projektförderungen. Beide Organisationen sind Begründer der FogNet Alliance. Diese hat zum Ziel, die Nebelnetztechnologie zu verbessern, Akteure zu vernetzen und bei der Projektimplementierung zu helfen. >mehr

  • Sommerakademie 2019 - Jetzt bewerben!

    Sommerakademie 2019 - Jetzt bewerben!

    Im Oktober 2019 wird die 2. Sommerakademie „Global Risk and Adaptation Futures“ in Accra, Ghana, stattfinden. Das Schwerpunktthema dieses Jahr wird der demographische Wandel sein und wie er mit klimabedingten Risiken zusammenhängt. Wir laden Experten aus aller Welt zum Diskurs ein. Das Bewerbungsportal für Teilnehmer ist jetzt online. (Englisch) >mehr

  • "Riesterflop, Hartz 4 und Kinderarmut - Wohin steuert Deutschland? Wohin treibt die EU?" - Dialogforum am 4. April 2019

    "Riesterflop, Hartz 4 und Kinderarmut - Wohin steuert Deutschland? Wohin treibt die EU?" - Dialogforum am 4. April 2019

    In Deutschland gab es noch nie so viele Jobs wie zur Zeit. Doch das ist nur die eine Seite der Medaille. Denn Alters- und Kinderarmut sind wachsende Bedrohungen, und die Kluft zwischen arm und reich wird immer größer. Wie geht unsere Gesellschaft damit um? Wie wirksam sind die Maßnahmen zur Bekämpfung von Armut? >mehr

  • Jahresreport 2018

    Jahresreport 2018

    2018 war ein ereignisreiches Jahr. Es war geprägt durch Handelskriege, soziale Unruhen wie etwa in Frankreich und einer unverminderten Migrationsdebatte in Europa. Wichtige Bereiche der Nachhaltigkeit wie Klimawandel und Armutsbekämpfung wurden dabei zeitweise verdrängt. Die Diskussionen darüber haben uns umgetrieben, vor allem auch im Hinblick auf die Auswirkungen auf unsere Projekte. >mehr

  • Report der #14thIMC: Inclusive Insurance for Emerging Markets

    Report der #14thIMC: Inclusive Insurance for Emerging Markets

    Der Report fasst die 14. Internationale Mikroversicherungskonferenz in Lusaka, Sambia, von 6. bis 8. November 2018 zusammen. Die Konferenz hat über 450 Teilnehmer aus 57 Ländern zusammengeführt. Sie diskutierten über Herausforderungen und Lösungen für die Entwicklung von Inclusive Insurance. (Englisch) >mehr

  • Zyklon Idai verwüstet Mosambik – Wenn Warnsysteme nicht mehr ausreichen

    Zyklon Idai verwüstet Mosambik – Wenn Warnsysteme nicht mehr ausreichen

    Seit dem 4. März zog das Sturmtief Idai über die Straße von Mosambik. Der Sturm sog sich voll mit Wasser und gewann an Stärke. Wegen der sehr hohen Wassertemperaturen stieg die Zerstörungskraft schnell an. Am 15. März trifft der Tropensturm mit voller Wucht die Küste nahe der Großstadt Beira. Die Infrastruktur der Stadt ist vernichtet, das Umland steht teils metertief unter Wasser. >mehr

  • RISK Award 2017: Wie Krankenschwestern in Nepal das Gesundheitswesen modernisieren

    RISK Award 2017: Wie Krankenschwestern in Nepal das Gesundheitswesen modernisieren

    Mobiltelefone und Tablets sind die täglichen Begleiter der EpiNurses – Krankenschwestern mit digitaler Spezialausbildung – in Nepal. Die Frauen werden in Flüchtlingslager, Krisengebiete oder abgeschiedene Bergregionen entsandt, um die medizinische Versorgung auch im Notfall zu gewährleisten. (Englisch) >mehr

  • Dialogforen 2019: Arme reiche Welt

    Dialogforen 2019: Arme reiche Welt

    Keine Armut! Weltweit – ohne Ausnahmen und Kompromisse. So lautet das erste Ziel der Vereinten Nationen in der Agenda für nachhaltige Entwicklung 2030. Dies zeigt die große Bedeutung von Armut in der globalen Entwicklung. In den Medien bestimmen Katastrophenmeldungen, Krisen und Hungersnöte das Bild. Das UN-Ziel scheint fast utopisch zu sein - Wir diskutieren mit Ihnen Lösungen und Wege aus der Krise. >mehr

  • RISK Award 2019: 109 Bewerbungen aus 48 Ländern

    RISK Award 2019: 109 Bewerbungen aus 48 Ländern

    Inseln sind bei Umwelt- und Klimaveränderungen besonders gefährdet. Genau wie viele andere Küstenzonen der Welt sind sie einer Vielzahl von Risiken ausgesetzt: Stürmen, Erosion, Meeresspiegelanstieg und vieles mehr. Welche Lösungen gibt es, um die Widerstandskraft an Küsten aufzubauen? Für den RISK Award 2019 haben wir über 100 Bewerbungen aus 48 Ländern erhalten mit vielversprechenden Projektideen. >mehr

Sommerakademie: Globale Risiken und Anpassungsmöglichkeiten

Sommerakademie: Globale Risiken und Anpassungsmöglichkeiten

Ein grundlegendes Verständnis, wie Klimaveränderung und sozioökonomische Entwicklungen zusammenhängen, ist Voraussetzung für valide Risikotrendanalysen. Für die Wissenschaft, aber auch für die Politik und die Privatwirtschaft. Um dieses Verständnis der verschiedenen Disziplinen zu fördern und Risikoanalysen zu verbessern, laden wir Experten zur neuen Sommerakademie ein. >mehr

Inclusive Insurance

Inclusive Insurance

Die Konferenz bietet Vertretern von Regulierungsbehörden, Versicherungsindustrie, Wissenschaft und Praktikern ein Forum zum Erfahrungsaustausch und für Netzwerkbildung. Sie findet seit 2005 jährlich in wechselnden Kontinenten statt. Die Plattform dient der Armutsbekämpfung und schafft Grundlagen, um die Lebensbedingungen von Menschen in Entwicklungsländern zu verbessern. >mehr

Wasser - Nebelnetze

Wasser - Nebelnetze

Wasser ist für den Menschen durch nichts zu ersetzen. Unser „blauer Planet“ verdankt seinen Namen dem Wasser, das rund zwei Drittel der Erdoberfläche bedeckt. Dennoch ist Wasser eine knappe Ressource: Nur ein Prozent der weltweiten Wasservorkommen steht als Trinkwasser zu Verfügung. Die Münchener Rück Stiftung fördert Projekte zur Wassergewinnung in ariden Gebieten oder im Fall von Katastrophennothilfe. >mehr

RISK Award

RISK Award

Die Risiken aus einer rasch wachsenden Weltbevölkerung und Umwelt- sowie Klimaveränderungen nehmen zu - gerade in Entwicklungsländern. Komplexe Infrastrukturen und sensible Technik befeuern das Risiko zusätzlich. Wir müssen vorbereitet sein. Der RISK Award fördert Projekte, die Gefahren für Menschen reduzieren und Gesellschaften schützen. >mehr

Die Weltkarte der Mikroversicherung

Die Weltkarte der Mikroversicherung

Mikroversicherungen haben sich schnell entwickelt in den vergangenen Jahren. Neue Märkte wurden entdeckt, neue Produkte eingeführt. Eine solide Datengrundlage wird zunehmend wichtig, um den Prozess zu unterstützen. Seit 2012 arbeiten wir mit Partnern daran, die Entwicklung von Mikroversicherung weltweit transparent zu machen. Dafür entstehen Studien und interaktive Karten. >mehr

Dialogforen

Dialogforen

In der öffentlichen Veranstaltungsreihe in München greifen wir aktuelle Fragestellungen auf. Politiker, Wissenschaftler und Betroffene blicken hinter die Kulissen und diskutieren mit den Besuchern. Die Reihe soll das Bewusstsein für Themen wie Bevölkerungsentwicklung, Risikowahrnehmung oder Entwicklungspolitik schärfen. >mehr

Resilienz für Bangladesch

Resilienz für Bangladesch

Bangladesch ist eines der gefährdetsten Länder der Erde, wenn es um Naturkatastrophen und Folgen des Klimawandels geht. In Partnerschaft mit der Universität der Vereinten Nationen in Bonn unterstützen wir das International Centre for Climate Change and Development in Dhaka. Neben Forschung zur Resilienz der Menschen in Bangladesch sollen mehrere Gemeinden gegen Katastrophen abgesichert werden. >mehr

Microinsurance Learning Sessions

Microinsurance Learning Sessions

In einigen Ländern der Welt zeigen sich besonders dynamische Mikroversicherungsmärkte. Faktoren wie Wirtschaftswachstum, sichere Rahmenbedingungen oder effiziente Regulierung sind dafür ausschlaggebend. In Seminaren, die speziell auf die regionalen Lösungen fokussieren, arbeiten wir mit Partnern zusammen, um das Wissen und die Erfahrungen weiter zu verbreiten. >mehr

Klimawandel und Bildung

Klimawandel und Bildung

Es ist Auftrag der Stiftung, ihr Wissen auch Schülern und jungen Studierenden zu vermitteln. Wir decken eine große Bandbreite an Themen ab: Klimawandel, Nachhaltigkeit, Gerechtigkeit, Umweltveränderungen, Soziale Verwundbarkeit und Resilienz. >mehr

• Call for proposals now open for submissions

    Call for proposals now open for submissions

    The 15th International Conference on Inclusive Insurance for Emerging Markets "Coping with Climate Risk” will take place in Dhaka from 5 – 7 November 2019. The conference will be hosted in cooperation with the Bangladesh Insurance Association (BIA) and the Microinsurance Network. >more

  • Call for grant applications - Fog collection and fog net technology projects

    Call for grant applications - Fog collection and fog net technology projects

    To assist the development of projects for collecting water from fog, the WaterFoundation and the Munich Re Foundation are awarding one or more grants for the provision of new or the enhancement of existing fog collection projects. Both organizations are the founders of a FogNet Alliance in order to improve fog net technology in general, provide knowledge and serve fog net projects including management. >more

  • 2019 Summer Academy - Call for applications

    2019 Summer Academy - Call for applications

    In October 2019 our second Summer Academy on "Global Risk and Adaptation Futures" will take place in Accra, Ghana. The thematic focus this year will be on demographic changes and how they interlink with climate and environmental changes. We invite experts from all over the world to attend. The call for applications is now online. >more

  • Riester pension flop, Hartz 4 and child poverty – In what direction is Germany heading? What path is the EU on?

    Riester pension flop, Hartz 4 and child poverty – In what direction is Germany heading? What path is the EU on?

    Dialogue forum on 4 April 2019: In Germany, there are more jobs today than ever before. But that is only one side of the coin. Old-age and child poverty are growing threats, and the gap between rich and poor is steadily widening. How does our society approach these issues? How effective are our measures to combat poverty? >more

  • Annual Report 2018

    Annual Report 2018

    We look back on an eventful 2018. It was a year marked by trade wars, social unrest (as in France), and an unrelenting debate about migration in Europe. Important areas of sustainability, such as climate change and poverty reduction, were temporarily pushed into the background. We followed the discussions surrounding these topics very closely, as they play an increasingly important role in our projects. >more

  • Report - 14th International Microinsurance Conference, Zambia

    Report - 14th International Microinsurance Conference, Zambia

    This publication is the summary of the 14th International Microinsurance Conference that took place in Lusaka, Zambia, from 6 – 8 November 2018. The event brought together 450 participants from 57 countries to discuss the challenges and opportunities in microinsurance. >more

  • Cyclone Idai devastates Mozambique - When warning systems are not enough

    Cyclone Idai devastates Mozambique - When warning systems are not enough

    On 15 March tropical cyclone Idai hit the coast near Beira with devastating consequences. 90 percent of the infrastructure and houses are damaged or lost. Hundreds of people lost their lives. What role did warning systems play in this crisis? >more

  • 2017 RISK Award: How nurses in Nepal are modernising the healthcare system

    2017 RISK Award: How nurses in Nepal are modernising the healthcare system

    Mobile phones and tablets are the daily companions of the EpiNurses – nurses with special digital training – in Nepal. The women are sent to refugee camps, crisis areas and remote mountainous regions to provide medical care in emergencies. >more

  • 2019 Dialogue forums: Poor rich world

    2019 Dialogue forums: Poor rich world

    No poverty! Worldwide – with no exceptions or compromises. This is the first of the United Nations' sustainable development goals to be achieved by 2030. It illustrates the huge importance of poverty in relation to global development. The picture presented in the media is made up of disaster reports, crises and famines. The UN goals seem almost utopian - We will discuss ways out and solutions. >more

  • 2019 RISK Award: 109 applications from 48 countries

    2019 RISK Award: 109 applications from 48 countries

    The call for proposals for the „Coastal Resilience“ RISK Award ended on 30 November 2018. We received 109 applications from 48 countries which address the issue from different perspectives. The high number of proposals from all over the world clearly proves the necessity for countries and people in coastal areas to act in order to adapt to and cope with climate and environmental changes. >more

Summer Academy: World risk and adaptation futures

Summer Academy: World risk and adaptation futures

A sound understanding of future trajectories in environmental and climatic risks and especially the related socio-economic vulnerabilities is of key importance for science, policy and practice alike. Yet, such knowledge and the methodological toolkit to develop it remains inadequate to date. To overcome that gap we initiated the Summer Academy and invite experts to discuss this challenge and find solutions. >more

Inclusive Insurance

Inclusive Insurance

The IMC offers representatives from supervisory authorities, donor organisations, the insurance industry, the scientific community and practitioners a forum for sharing knowledge and networking. It has been held annually since 2005, each year on a different continent. The aim of the platform is to tackle poverty and create a basis for improving the living conditions of people in developing countries. >more

Water - Fog nets

Water - Fog nets

For human beings, nothing can replace water. Our "blue planet" owes its name to the water that covers around two-thirds of the earth's surface. Nevertheless, water is still a scarce resource: only 1% of world's water is available as drinking water. The Munich Re Foundation is supporting projects which provide drinking water in arid regions or in case of emergency. >more

RISK Award

RISK Award

The risks resulting from population growth and changes in the environment and climate are increasing. Complex technical systems and infrastructure can be additional risk factors. We recognise the need to address this development. The RISK Award helps to lower the level of risk by providing financial support to a project dedicated to these issues. >more

The Worldmap of Microinsurance

The Worldmap of Microinsurance

Microinsurance has been making great progress in recent years. New markets are being explored, and new products are being introduced. The importance of a detailed overview of the status quo increases. Since 2012, we have been working together with our partners to make the development of microinsurance transparent all over the world. Studies and interactive maps are being created. >more

Dialogue forums

Dialogue forums

At these events, which are open to the general public and held in Munich, politicians, scientists and persons concerned take a look behind the scenes and engage the audience in discussion. The forums are designed to heighten awareness of our topics such as demographic developments, risk perception, and development policy. >more

Resilience building in Bangladesh

Resilience building in Bangladesh

In regard to natural disasters and the impact of climate change, Bangladesh is one of the most affected countries in the world. In partnership with the United Nations University in Bonn, we support the International Centre for Climate Change and Development in Dhaka. In addition to research on resilience of the people in Bangladesh, the aim is to safeguard communities against disasters. >more

Microinsurance Learning Sessions

Microinsurance Learning Sessions

In some countries of the world, the microinsurance markets are particularly dynamic. Factors such as economic growth, reliable boundary conditions or efficient regulation are decisive factors for such developments. In seminars that focus on regional solutions, we work together with partners to share the related knowledge and experience. >more

Climate change and education

Climate change and education

One of the foundation’s aims is to pass on its knowledge to pupils and young students. We cover a broad range of topics: climate change, sustainability, justice, environmental change, social vulnerability and resilience. >more