Dialogforen 2015: Klima, Armut, Katastrophen – rettet die Welt!


2015 ist ein Jahr der Entscheidungen. Die Menschheit lernt jeden Tag dazu, trotzdem ereignen sich weltweit immer größere und schlimmere Katastrophen: Hurrikan Katrina, Deep Water Horizon, Fukushima. Hinzu kommen soziale Krisen in zahlreichen Ländern. Lösungen sind nicht in Sicht. Die Energiewende stockt, die Einkommensschere klafft immer weiter auseinander. 2015 wird neu verhandelt – auf wegweisenden Weltkonferenzen. Bei den Dialogforen 2015 wollen wir mit Ihnen und namhaften Experten die vor uns liegenden Herausforderungen diskutieren.

Die Anmeldetermine können Sie der Agenda entnehmen. Eine Vorabanmeldung per E-Mail oder telefonisch ist leider nicht möglich. Wir halten keine Kontingente frei und wollen allen Besuchern die gleichen Chancen einräumen. Aufgrund des hohen Besucherinteresses können leider nur angemeldete Gäste an den einzelnen Abenden teilnehmen.

20. Januar 2015: Globale Abkommen – ist das Scheitern vorprogrammiert?

2015 wird zum Schlüsseljahr. Wichtige globale Abkommen wie die Millennium-Entwicklungsziele und die globale UN-Katastrophenvorsorgestrategie laufen aus und werden neu aufgesetzt. Der Weltklimagipfel Ende des Jahres in Paris soll die Weichen für den Klimaschutz neu stellen. Was bewirken internationale Konferenzen und globale Abkommen? Welche Macht haben große Organisationen wie die Vereinten Nationen, ihre Ziele durchzusetzen? Welche Rolle können andere Akteure wie NGOs oder die Privatwirtschaft spielen?

Dr. Heike Kuhn, Ministerialrätin, Referat Millenniums-Entwicklungsziele und Armutsminderung, BMZ, Berlin und Bonn
Prof. Ellen Matthies, Professorin für Umweltpsychologie an der Universität Magdeburg
Christine von Weizsäcker, Präsidentin von Women in Europe for a Common Future (WECF), Biologin und Umweltaktivistin, München

Moderation:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Ressortleiter Wissen, Süddeutsche Zeitung, München

24. Februar 2015: Klimawandel – rettet Paris das Zwei-Grad-Ziel?

Der Klimawandel schreitet voran. Der aktuelle IPCC-Bericht dokumentiert, dass damit große Risiken verbunden sind. Gleichzeitig macht er Hoffnung: Das Zwei-Grad-Ziel kann erreicht werden, wenn die Politik endlich mitspielt. Die Weltklimakonferenz in Paris soll 2015 eine Wende einleiten. Kann das gelingen? Welche Rolle spielen die USA, China und die EU, insbesondere Deutschland? Wie kann sich die Zivilgesellschaft in den Prozess mit einbringen?

Annalena Baerbock, MdB, Sprecherin für Klimapolitik der Bundestagsfraktion von BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN, Berlin
Christoph Bals, Politischer Geschäftsführer von Germanwatch, Berlin und Bonn
Prof. Mojib Latif, Leiter des Forschungsbereiches: Ozeanzirkulation und Klimadynamik, GEOMAR, Kiel

Moderation:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Ressortleiter Wissen, Süddeutsche Zeitung, München

3. März 2015: Fluten, Dürre, Stürme – sind wir vorbereitet?

Hurrikan Sandy und Taifun Haiyan, Tsunamis, Hitzetote in England und Jahrhundertfluten in Deutschland: Immer mehr Menschen leiden unter Naturkatastrophen. Die Nachsorge ist teuer, aufwendig und oft nicht nachhaltig. Effiziente Katastrophenvorsorge ist dringend notwendig, doch die Anstrengungen der Regierungen reichen bei weitem nicht aus. Abkommen und politische Vorgaben wie die UN-Strategie für Katastrophenvorsorge erweisen sich bisher als zahnlose Tiger. Wie kann die Prävention bei uns, aber auch international verbessert werden? Welche Rolle spielen UN-Organisationen, welche die Nationalstaaten oder zivilgesellschaftliche Institutionen?

Prof. Peter Höppe, Leiter des Bereichs Geo Risks Research/Corporate Climate Centre von Munich Re, München
Dr. Volkmar Schön, Vizepräsident des Deutschen Roten Kreuzes, Berlin
Christoph Unger, Präsident des Bundesamtes für Bevölkerungsschutz und Katastrophenhilfe (BBK), Bonn

Moderation:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Ressortleiter Wissen, Süddeutsche Zeitung, München

14. April 2015: Arme reiche Welt – faire Chancen für alle?

Die UN-Millenniumsziele sollten die globale Armut halbieren. Relativ gesehen sind wir auf einem guten Weg. Absolut jedoch steigt die Zahl der armen Menschen weiter. Gleichzeitig entwickeln sich in vielen Ländern wohlhabende Mittelschichten. Wer partizipiert an Wohlstand und Aufschwung, wer hat geringe Chancen? Läuft die Welt Gefahr, dauerhaft zu einer Zweiklassengesellschaft zu werden?

Dr. Mar Cabezas, Zentrum für Ethik und Armutsforschung, Universität Salzburg
Marion Lieser, Geschäftsführerin von OXFAM Deutschland, Berlin
Dr. Gerd Müller, Bundesminister, Ministerium für Entwicklung und Zusammenarbeit, Berlin und Bonn
  
Moderation:
Sebastian Hermann, Süddeutsche Zeitung, München

6. Mai 2015: Tu was! Über Macht und Ohnmacht des Einzelnen

Politisches oder zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement, ehrenamtliche Tätigkeiten und ein nachhaltiger Lebensstil können Änderungen bewirken. Welche Handlungsmöglichkeiten gibt es für Bürger – für jeden von uns? Höhlt steter Tropfen wirklich den globalen Stein? Wie groß ist der Einfluss des Individuums auf Prozesse von internationaler Bedeutung?

Frithjof Finkbeiner, Unternehmer, Koordinator der Global Marshall Plan Initiative, Hamburg
Sabine Nallinger, Vorstand der Stiftung 2 Grad, Berlin
Claudia Roth, Vizepräsidentin des Deutschen Bundestages, BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN, Berlin

Moderation:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Ressortleiter Wissen, Süddeutsche Zeitung, München

21. Mai 2015, Hochschule München: Rettet die Welt! Sind wir vorbereitet?
Über die vergangenen Jahrzehnte hinweg sind Naturkatastrophen häufiger und stärker geworden, die Schäden erreichen immer größere Ausmaße. Verantwortlich dafür ist auch der Klimawandel. Umso wichtiger ist es, dass sich die Menschen für künftige Katastrophen wappnen.

Prof. Peter Höppe, Leiter des Bereichs Geo Risks Research/Corporate Climate Centre von Munich Re, München
Dr. Thorsten Klose, Referent Katastrophenvorsorge, Deutsches Rotes Kreuz, Berlin
Prof. Annegret Thieken, Vorsitzende Wissenschaftlicher Beirat, DKKV, Universität Potsdam 

Moderation:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Ressortleiter Wissen, Süddeutsche Zeitung, München

Während der Veranstaltung werden Fotos für Berichtszwecke gemacht. Wünschen Sie, nicht aufgenommen zu werden, sagen Sie uns oder unserem Fotografen bitte Bescheid.

Wir bitten um rechtzeitiges Erscheinen am Veranstaltungstag. Eine Garantie für einen Sitzplatz können wir nicht gewähren.

2015 Dialogue Forums: Climate, poverty, catastrophes – save the world!

The event language is German. No translation will be available.

2015 will be a year of decisions. Humankind is learning every day, and yet ever bigger and more destructive catastrophes are occurring around the world: Fukushima, Deep Water Horizon, Hurricane Katrina. Social crises in numerous countries bear additional risks. Solutions are not in sight. The energy turnaround is faltering, the gap between rich and poor is widening inexorably. This will be the subject of a lot of renegotiation in 2015 – at global conferences that will show us the way forward. At the 2015 Dialogue Forums, we want to discuss the challenges that lie ahead, with you and other notable experts.

You will find the registration dates in the agenda. We regret that advance registrations by e-mail or telephone are not possible. We will not keep special allocations for certain groups, as we want to give all visitors the same opportunity to take part. Because of the strong demand, only registered guests can attend the various evenings.

20 January 2015: Global treaties – are they destined to fail?

2015 will be a defining year. Important global agreements such as the Millennium Development Goals and the global UN Disaster Risk Reduction strategy are scheduled to end, and will be redrafted. The World Climate Summit at the end of the year is supposed to reset the course of climate protection. What do international conferences and global treaties achieve? What power do large organisations such as the United Nations have to enforce and achieve their objectives? What role can other players such as NGOs and the private sector play?

Dr. Heike Kuhn, Undersecretary in the Department for Millennium Development Goals and the Reduction of Poverty, Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development, Berlin and Bonn
Prof. Ellen Matthies, Professor of Environmental Psychology at the University of Magdeburg
Christine von Weizsäcker, President of Women in Europe for a Common Future (WECF), biologist and environmental activist, Munich

Presenter:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Science Editor of the Süddeutsche Zeitung in Munich

24 February 2015: Climate change – will Paris rescue the 2°C climate target?

Climate change is marching on relentlessly. And the most recent IPCC report shows that this brings major risks with it. At the same time, it also offers hope: The 2°C climate target can be achieved if governments finally play the game. The World Climate Conference in Paris is planned to launch the trend reversal in 2015. But can it succeed in doing so? What role to the US, China and the EU play, in particular Germany? How can civil society get involved?

Annalena Baerbock, Member of the German Bundestag, spokesperson for climate policy of the parliamentary party BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN, Berlin
Christoph Bals, Policy Director of Germanwatch, Berlin and Bonn
Prof. Mojib Latif, Head of the Research Division Ocean Circulation and Climate Dynamics, GEOMAR, Kiel

Presenter:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Science Editor of the Süddeutsche Zeitung in Munich

3 March 2015: Floods, drought, storms – are we prepared?

Hurricane Sandy and Typhoon Haiyan, tsunamis, heat deaths in England and severe flooding in Germany: An ever increasing number of people are being impacted by natural catastrophes. Efforts to reinstate normality after these events are expensive, laborious and often not lasting. Efficient disaster prevention is urgently needed, but the efforts being taken by governments are far from sufficient. Treaties and political demands such as the UN Disaster Risk Reduction Strategy have proven to be toothless tigers to date. How can prevention be improved in Germany and internationally? What role do UN organisations play? And what about the nation states and civil society institutions?

Prof. Peter Höppe, Head of Geo Risks Research/Corporate Climate Centre, Munich Re, Munich
Dr. Volkmar Schön, Vice-President of the German Red Cross, Berlin
Christoph Unger, President of the German Federal Agency for Civil Protection and Disaster Assistance (BBK), Bonn

Presenter:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Science Editor of the Süddeutsche Zeitung in Munich

14 April 2015: Poor rich world – fair opportunities for all?

The UN Millennium Development Goals were supposed to halve global poverty. Relatively speaking, we are on the right track. But in absolute terms the number of poor people is on the rise. Especially in Africa. At the same time, affluent middle classes are developing in many countries. Who participates in prosperity and economic upswings? Who has little opportunity to do so? Poverty is not only an economic problem. Poverty always also has to do with social exclusion and division. Is the world in danger of permanently becoming a two-tier society?

Dr. Mar Cabezas, Centre for Ethics and Poverty Research, Salzburg University
Marion Lieser, Managing Director of OXFAM Germany, Berlin
Dr. Gerd Müller, Federal Minister in the Ministry for Development and Cooperation, Berlin and Bonn
 
Presenter:
Sebastian Hermann, Süddeutsche Zeitung in Munich

6 May 2015: Do something! On the power and powerlessness of the individual

What can normal people do – each one of us? Political or civil involvement, voluntary activities and a sustainable lifestyle can lead to changes. Is slowly-but-surely fast enough for our planet? How much influence does the individual have on processes of international significance?

Frithjof Finkbeiner, entrepreneur, coordinator of the Global Marshall Plan Initiative, Hamburg
Sabine Nallinger, Board Member of the Stiftung 2 Grad foundation, Berlin
Claudia Roth, Vice President of the German Bundestag, BÜNDNIS 90/DIE GRÜNEN, Berlin

Presenter:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Science Editor of the Süddeutsche Zeitung in Munich

21 May 2015, Munich University: Save the world! Are we prepared?
In recent decades the number and severity of natural disasters have increased constantly, losses are reaching vast proportions. Climate change is one driving factor. Therefore, it is even more important that people prepare themselves against disasters.

Prof. Peter Höppe, Head of Geo Risks Research/Corporate Climate Centre, Munich Re, Munich
Dr. Thorsten Klose, Consultant Disaster Prevention, German Red Cross, Berlin
Prof. Annegret Thieken, Chairwoman Scientific Advisory Board of the DKKV, University Potsdam 

Presenter:
Dr. Patrick Illinger, Science Editor of the Süddeutsche Zeitung in Munich

Photographs will be taken during the events for journalistic purposes. Should you not wish your photograph to be taken, please inform us or one of our photographers.